My first real adult decision!

Coming to Buenos Aires was a dream of mine since the past year. I constantly Googled the city for pictures and more information, I bought tons of books, asked friends who had traveled there what it was like, and even managed to make some friends from Buenos Aires currently living in Germany.

For my internship I definitely wanted to leave Europe for a different experience and learning Spanish was the goal. I also like the Argentinian dialect! So when I found an agency able to find an internship in Buenos Aires for me I was ecstatic! I had to wait 2 months before I got offered a job, and when that day came (May 8th, 2011) I went out and drank liter cocktails at a local bar to celebrate.

For the agency I needed to submit a Spanish exam so they could test my level of Spanish and see if it was sufficient enough to start the job immediately. As I expected it wasn’t so they said I needed to take a language course before my internship, and that the language school was located in Córdoba (the 2nd largest city in Argentina). I thought, oh man I just want to go directly to Buenos Aires and start working, but oh well. Afterwards I was excited to have the chance to live in 2 main cities in Argentina.

I spent a month in Córdoba taking intense Spanish classes and meeting a lot of great people. It’s a student city with about 1.5 Million, but it’s somewhat safe and laid back. Córdoba also has the best weather in Argentina, and a very nice dry climate. A man working for my agency told me on my first day that Che Guereva  moved to Córdoba because it was a better climate for his asthma. The nature surrounding the city is also amazing, with many mountains and lakes. I had one of the greatest months of my lives in Córdoba.

When the time came to move to Buenos Aires, I made sure to say bye to all my friends which was very hard. I was excited though, to finally come to this big amazing city and meet people and enjoy the big city life. I was shocked immediately when I moved into my house here, and it was not catering to my health. The woman has a dog and a cat, and I am highly allergic, and she smokes inside the house which is bad for my asthma. Besides that I live on the widest avenue in the world (Av. 9 de Julio) so it’s always very loud with sirens, cars, and buses. I realized I needed to get out of this living situation so I contacted my agency and they said they would look for a new place. I attended the first day of my internship but left even early on that day because I got so sick with the flu, I had the chills etc. I had a fever with a temperature the next 3 days, and a week later I am still getting over my sickness. I really enjoyed the job though; it is ideal  for tourism. www.sayhueque.com  The boss is from United States and was very nice and helpful. My first day was research but afterwards he was expecting me to write stories promoting destinations. Like I said, I really liked the job; the commute to work was terrible though. It took about 45 minutes door to door. The subway here has a good connection but it’s very humid, and I noticed myself sweating badly and having difficulty breathing. I am thankful I haven’t encountered the “subte” during rush hour because I really heard that is miserable.

Since my agency is based out of Córdoba and not in Buenos Aires, they are not so well developed in Buenos Aires which is understandable, so that made me wonder how long it would take them to find me another accommodation here. Out of curiosity I asked if it was possible to return to Córdoba, and said if not that’s possible it’s ok. I just wanted to know. The women responded very quickly and said yes it was possible and even proposed a new internship. I was surprised and thought; wow perhaps I should go back. I had a terrible week here and it is a fact that the climate here is very humid. I noticed it was tight in my chest as soon as I arrived and sweat instantly. The humidity in Buenos Aires is about 70-90% and in Cordoba around 20-40%. The hard decision was – Do I stay in Buenos Aires possibly living in this terrible house for a long time but having a job that’s very interesting even though the commute is terrible. Or Do I return to Córdoba where I was more than happy with my life, friends, and the climate, but have a possibly less interesting job? I spoke with some people about it for advice and came to the conclusion to go back to Córdoba. For my health the climate is better, the nature nearby is fantastic and accessible, I love my friends I’ve made, living costs are cheaper, and my commute to work will probably be about 10 minutes walking.

I am very happy with my decision even though I am still asking myself if I will regret leaving Buenos Aires. It’s amazing how your views of somewhere can change after you experience it first-hand. I never imagined that I would learn to love Córdoba so much and long to come back, but it’s come to that point. Overall I found more pluses in returning to Córdoba then staying in Buenos Aires. I suppose sometimes leaving a good job opportunity behind for health and happiness is the right thing to do.

Looking forward to seeing how these next 3 months play out.

That’s it for now

2 responses to “My first real adult decision!

  1. I think health is the most important thing, I’d rather be jobless than working somewhere bad for myself
    Enjoy 😉

  2. Good work Nat! Keep it up and see you in Cordoba!

Leave a Reply

